“Silver” For My Friend

Often I find myself mired in the day to day dog of life.  It is easy to forget all the blessing that is poured upon us each and everyday. This morning I was shaken … not by a traumatic event in my own life, but by the courage, determination, and encouragement of a friend dealing with trauma of her own.

For the last couple of years, through this modern phenomenon that is social media, I was able to reconnect with a childhood companion.  We have not had frequent correspondence, but I have been honored to watch from a distance my friend inspire others while walking a path none of us would choose.

Fifteen years ago life changed dramatically when Liz’s husband Dave was diagnosed with  ALS (Lou Gehrig s Disease).  Although I never met Dave, it was obvious by his resolve  faced with this news, that he understood that God had a purpose for his life and no that no diagnosis would change that.  This brave couple and their son Charlie began the fight to fulfill every purpose that was set before them.  Not being close to the situation, I can’t imagine all that they have been through during those years. What I do know is that they have continued moving forward and striving, always looking for the “silver’ in every situation.

Although my blog is titled “Pressing Toward the Goal” I am a poor example of pressing forward.  It takes very little to throw me off of my game.  Lives that are lived like those of Dave and Liz convince me that I can overcome my petty circumstances and move consistently toward the purpose God has for me.

Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.(Philippians 3:13, 14 ESV)

Last night Dave was able to rest from his straining and has obtained the prize.  At this time of grief, Liz, know that you and Dave have touched more lives than you know. For all the “silver” you have shared, I thank you and pray that God will pour out His love and His comfort on you and Charlie during this time.

Chuck

About Chuck Farley

What started as a journal of my pursuit towards my first marathon has now turned into a journal of another kind. This is a journal of the training of a footman hoping to contend with horses. Husband, father, grandfather, coach; regardless of the role I am playing, it is my hope to encourage others by sharing how God's grace and love can help us "press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus"
This entry was posted in Coach's Rambling, Encouragement & Edification, Prayer Requests and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Silver” For My Friend

  1. I don’t know Liz and I didn’t know Dave, but I am sorry that she lost him. I will be praying that God strengthens and comforts her in this time of grief.

  2. Pingback: The Time Has Come – A Fresh Start Running & Blogging | Running With the Footmen

Leave a Reply

